A look into how The Media Review does Spring Break ( Part 2)

by Lory Martinez

For those of you regular listeners and readers,  you may have noticed that The Media Review was not on air this week. We are on vacation. I spent mine in my hometown of NYC and couldn’t resist leaving a little something for you guys during our short break.

I’ve always loved  Strand Bookstore. As an English major, I’ve even written an ode to the four story building that houses eight miles of books. (It wasn’t very good). It’s one of my favorite places in New York and I stopped by one night and caught the end of a poetry reading.

Yusef Komunyakaa, former winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry, and  Dan Chelotti, a famed McSweeney’s author read from their published works during the first of three readings organized by Strandbooks in celebration of the 10th anniversary of the Poetry Society Chapbook Fellowship. The two sat down for a question and answer session with the audience for an hour after the reading.

Ever the ambitious journalist, I came up with a multitude of questions to ask the poets during the conference, one of which included an inquiry into their opinions on online publishing! Check it out:

Start at 54:37 for my question on Online Publishing.

Strand Bookstore in Union Square hosts events in its Rare Book Room every week.  So do check those out. They are a wonderful gift to the literary community online and in print.

