A look into how The Media Review does Spring Break (Part 1)

by Lory Martinez

This is Kate Nash. If you don’t recognize her, that’s because she’s been donning a new look for the release of her 3rd album “Girl Talk.” She did a show at the Bowery Ballroom this past Tuesday and yours truly got to mosh with her. Yes, mosh. The famed British chanteuse graced the audience at this particular concert with the honor of singing alongside her as she covered Alanis Morissette‘s, “I’m a b***h”

Photo : The evidence, part 2: Kate Nash right smack in front of me

photo courtesy of Polina Holubovska

Besides the fact that I really wanted to share this fantastic image(taken 2 feet away from the singer as she belted out one of my favorite songs), I also wanted to point out a few interesting things about this concert experience with our listeners and readers here at The Media Review. 

You see, I haven’t been to a concert in a while. I saw Passion Pit at Binghamton University’s “Spring Fling Festival” two semesters ago, but that was way before I was actually interested in social media. As you may have read, I’ve had my own issues with Twitter and its 140 character updates in the past. However, by Tuesday night, I was finally the proud owner of an android phone and with it, came the apps that I had mocked my friends for.

Anyway, this was my first concert experience documented by social media. And boy, was it strange. I watched my favorite artist through what some might call “a shared lens.” Unfortunately, I found myself constantly thinking:

  • What am I going to post?
  • What is worth making a status about?
  • Is that thought witty enough to post?
  • Do I tweet at the artist?
  • Is that a thing people do at concerts?
  • Is that professional ( given the context)?
  • How many people will like collectively “like” this picture if I post it to Twitter, Instagram, Facebook and Tumblr?
  • Which one is the best for each idea/comment/image?
  • Should I post on all social media forums?
  • Is that going to annoy people?

Maybe it’s because I’m a little new to this, but those are a lot of questions to be wrestling with at a concert.

I mean, what about the music? Was I really listening? Or was it a matter of how much I wanted to share about my listening experience?

Is this what it’s like to go to a concert in 2013?

I realized about halfway through that I needed to get it together and put the phone away.

So I did… after I posted eight pictures to Instagram, four status updates on Facebook, two blog posts to Tumblr and three tweets/twitpics to Twitter.

Maybe I got carried away. Or maybe I did my duty as a “citizen journalist”.

Either way, I know I am not the only one. In recent years, we’ve started to become programmed to record things at the click of a button. Strange, isn’t it?

I wonder if this will change the way musicians present their work.  It’s not hard to imagine a future in which managers direct  artists to say something “tweetable.” Or maybe the lighting guy will be switching it up to work with Instagram’s filter effects.

Who knows what this will do to our brains? Not to freak anyone out, but doesn’t it scare you a little that you now feel the need to share everything you do with people you may not know? I mean if I went around actually shouting my status updates to people in the street… well, that would be really odd now wouldn’t it?

People from overseas can now see that Kate Nash was right in front of me. Awesome.

People who couldn’t go to the concert can find someone’s bad quality recording on Youtube. Cool.

People who read this article will know more about my inner battle with social media and its effect on my life than others. Maybe.

And they will also talk about it.

Hopefully.

And maybe it’ll start a conversation.

And maybe it will make people look out for these documentations of the human experience,

And maybe they’ll have things to talk about when their great grandchildren walk up to their hover-wheelchairs with their brain CPUs asking about the old days and that thing called, “the internet.”

